Book ‘em Danno

I always have a book on me. If not a physical one, then I have an audio one and hopefully soon enough I will have a digital one. I listen to audio books while I work, while I drive (when I’m alone) and sometimes at night if I’m really into a book. Usually I have a stack of books on my nightstand and a backlog waiting in my head or jotted down on scraps of paper in notebooks and in my bag. I also have a few on my wishlist at the library.

One of the things I think about in the summer time is of course summer reading. Today on On Point with Tom Ashbrook , they featured a segment on “Hot Summer Reads for 2011“. I am very proud to say my good friend Michael Kindness of Books on the Nightstand fame was a guest on the show. Michael and I have been friends for about 15 years now and over that time he has recommended hundreds of books to me. Its often like having my own personal Bookseller on the “Batphone”, just pick up the line and he has a book for you. I’m not going to get into each recommendation mentioned on the broadcast, but I would recommend checking it out. 

My 2011 reading challenge is moving right along and I’m currently at 33 books completed. The number could be higher, but with like one exception I haven’t been listing books I’m re-reading/re-listening too. Currently I have a small pile on my nightstand and many more I’m looking forward to this summer. At present I’m reading Joe Hill‘s Heart Shaped Box. This book has taken me a little longer than usual, but that is not for lack of interest. I have a bad habit of picking it up at night when I can’t keep my eyes open, which results in me reading only two pages before giving up. I’m hoping to finish it by July 21st, since I do have to return it to the library then after my renewal. Fingers crossed for me.

After that I have a book mentioned by Michael on On Point, it’s called The Bee-loud Glade by Steve Himmer. This is his debut novel. My copy, which I have been meaning to pick up since it’s release (I’ve been terrible about getting around to buying it), came yesterday. Why do I feel so guilty about this? Mr. Himmer is also a friend of mine. I have read excerpts from unpublished works of his over the years and even participated in a writers group with him – I am very proud and excited to have the chance to see him published. All the buzz about the book has been positive and I’m looking forward to it being one of my summer reads.

Though I’ve been holding out for an audio copy of the next book/books on my list, Mad Dog has advised me I’m like number 14 in line at the library for book 1. This might take a while! The book/series I’m talking about is A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. Mad Dog has been urging me to read the books since he is positive I would love the series (he’s presently on book three), but it wasn’t until we watched the television series on HBO did I find the need to read the books right now. This is a common trend with Mad Dog and I, he recommends and I fight it – then I read it for another reason and I LOVE it. This has happened with American Gods by Neil Gaiman, The Road by Cormac McCarthy, The Gum Thief  by Douglas Coupland and The Stupidest Angel by Christopher Moore. I could also add David Sedaris to this but he is pushing this. He keeps calling Michael Kindness Batman, and calling himself Nightwing. I have created a monster. 

What is the summer (at least for me) without a little Stephen King? I have read most, if not all his books however I remember starting Needful Things when it came out, but never finishing the book. It just so happens a few weeks ago, Mad Dog found a hardcover copy at the library bookstore for me. This book is planning on making the trip to Maine with us in July. Another reason why I have to finish the Hill book and The Bee-loud Glade by then.

I do need to find something a bit lighter to read at some point, but for now I’m staying away from Chick-lit. In it’s current place I’m reading more Graphic Novels. Yes, comics! I feel that being the wife of a Retail Operations Manager of a Comic Book Store – Modern Myths (English translation Store Manger/Buyer) means I have to get my “Geek On” (and I don’t mean Mad Dog – you sick people).  At present I’m reading the graphic novels that fall within Blackest Night, for non-geeks its was an event DC Comics did last year surrounding Green Lantern and the heroes of the DC Universe.

The final two books on my summer reading list are currently both recommendations by Mad Dog (however the first could be totally contributed to Batman (aka Mr. Kindness). They are:

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (who Mad Dog met a few weeks ago – See Back-Pedaling Without a Bike)

Replay by Ken Griswood

If you’re looking for more book recommendations for the summer or whenever check out Books on the Nightstand! Don’t forget another great source is your local bookseller at your favorite bookstore. Happy summer and even happier reading!

~ by Cute Fan Girl on June 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

