Melting with The Brick

I should start this blog post by saying I’m not one of those parents that can’t be away from my kids. Yes, of course I worry about them when we’re apart but that is honestly more about what small country they will attempt to take over or if they will try to launch one another into orbit or something.  My worries are far more about the trouble they will uncover and what issues it will cause in getting the person who is currently taking care of them to take them again at another time.

In the time since Lex was born (February 2007) there have only been three times (2 happy occasions/one not so much) since his birth we have been away from the kids overnight. This number is minus those wonderful times we have been in the hospital or in Mad Dog’s case aways at Managers Meetings. In those cases one of us is always with the kids when they go to bed and/or wake up. The first time we were away from the them was when we got married. Lex was about 6 months old at the time he and Gabrielle stayed at my Mom’s overnight. Then there was when I ended up in the hospital after Loki was born, there was a snow storm and my Mom and brother took the kids back to Mansfield to take care of them while Mad Dog worried about me in Worcester. Loki was 8 days old when this happened, she was so small and we we’re so unprepared for this that she has to sleep in a laundry basket next to my Mom’s bed.

The most recent time was Sunday night. The Burlington LEGO Store celebrated the holidays that night with their holiday party. This year the staff was able to bring a +1, which meant I got to go as Mad Dog’s date. Woo Hoo for me, huh? The party was planned for a lavish dinner at The Melting Pot in Bedford/Burlington, then for a little fun in a conference room/ballroom at the Hilton Garden Inn. Once Mad Dog told me we were going to The Melting Pot I was very excited, it’s a place I’ve wanted to check out but honestly kids and hot cheese/liquids don’t really mix. My Mom and Stuart were wonderful enough to watch the kids for the evening and overnight since Mad Dog had reserves several rooms the Hotel for people to stay over if they need/wanted to. This meant we got a night without the kids, in part thanks to Covidien giving me Monday off as well.

Main Course

We dropped the kids off at noonish and heading up to the store so Mad Dog could get a little work done before we checked into the hotel so he could make sure everything was all set. I am not someone who can shop for 2 hours without getting bored (this is also very hard when you’re alone). I had walked the whole Burlington Mall in like 20 minutes, and was like okay lets go. Mad Dog hadasked for two hours. Damn I had some time to kill. I checked our some of my favorite stores and some other stores I wouldn’t be caught in usually (more so for lack of funds to purchase anything in them). I also found that I had burned out my offactory nerves by walking in a several store radius of Abercrombie & Fitch. I’m unsure which fragrance of theirs it is, but I can tell you if you walked by a Abercrombie store you know what I’m talking about. The only thing that could defeat the Abercrombie fragrance was of course the other great smelly evil of every mall Yankee Candle.  It took a good hour before I could smell anything else and my nose actually stopped burning. I somehow manage to kill time getting a coffee at the eBar at Nordstrom and finding my new favorite shop (if I was skinny) which is called Metropark. I went back up to LEGO to grab my coat and head to the car, the mall was 1,000 degrees and I was melting like a unseasonably late snowman. Mad Dog was out in like 5 minutes after I reached the car. We headed over to the hotel where we checked in. Mad Dog checked out the conference room and I got ready to go out later. Shortly after arriving chocolate dipped strawberries and champagne was delivered to our room (SWEET!) We got ready and headed over to the restaurant to meet everyone.

I know most of Mad Dog’s staff by short little snips I hear from him from time to time, usually after phone calls with the store. I have met a few people face to face at events or at the store it self. As I have told Mad Dog I have an idea or image in my head of these people, but they don’t alway match up to the real thing. We were set up in a big private room for our 32 person private party. The evening would start off with the cheese course and cocktails:

Wisconsin Trio Cheese Fondue: Fontina, Butterkäse and Buttermilk Bleu cheeses with white wine, scallions and a hint of sherry

Cheddar Cheese Fondue: Aged, medium-sharp Cheddar and Emmenthaler Swiss cheeses, lager beer, garlic and seasonings

Fondue à la France: A rich, smooth combination of baby Brie, Fontina, Gruyèreand Raclette cheeses accented with bacon,onions,white-truffle cream and fresh chives.

These were served with Granny Smith apples and a variety of breads and vegetables. They served this in a buffet style so people could eat, mingle and chat. After that we were seated for the salad course (choices of):

California Salad
Mixed-baby-salad greens, Roma tomatoes, walnuts and Gorgonzola cheese with Raspberry Black Walnut Vinaigrette.

Caesar Salad
Crisp romaine lettuce, Caesar dressing, shredded Parmesan cheese, crispy croutons and an added touch of Parmesan-encrusted pine nuts.

Fearless Leaders: Mad Dog & Alanna

After that it was the main course:

Cold-Water Lobster Tail, Filet Mignon, Peppercorn-Crusted NY Strip, Chicken Provençal, Roasted-Garlic Shrimp, Duck a l’Orange, Ratatouille & Goat Cheese Ravioli, Fresh Vegetables

which we cooked in our choice of cooking styles:

Coq Au Vin: Fresh herbs, mushrooms, garlic and burgundy wine

Bourguignonne: 100% cholesterol free Canola oil with dipping batters

Donovan's Drink

Finally things were finished off with dessert chocolates which we would dip delicious fruits, cakes (including cheesecake) and marshmallows :

The Original: Milk chocolate with crunchypeanut butter.

Flaming Turtle: Milk chocolate, caramel,pecans, flambéed tableside.

Chocolate S’mores: Milk chocolate withmarshmallow and graham crackers,flambéed tableside.

I will honestly say their cocktails were just as yummy as all the food. I can personally recommend the Love Martini (Malibu rum, peach schnapps, cranberry juice and fresh strawberries), while I head that the Mounds and the Banana Split were very good too (Dononvan at least enjoyed his). We ate, chatted and ate some more. The food was wonderful and so was the company. It was a pleasure to chat with people I’ve heard about and are such a big part of  Mad Dog’s life.

Mad Dog and Dan

After we were stuffed a bunch of us headed back to the hotel for a little Wii Just Dance and more snacks in the conference room. There are a lot of good sports among the group. Since dinner was so long this part of the evening was cut somewhat short since we only had the room until 11 o’clock. Until that happened we had some amazing dance moves and a little Mario Cart racing. We said our good-nights, schedules were re-arranged and the night ended.

Mad Dog and I retired to room 310 and called it a night. Mad Dog was a great husband letting me sleep in while he got up EARLY to pick the kids up and get them to daycare for the morning so we could go have Dim Sum at China Pearl in Quincy. It was a wonderful start to 2011.

Thank you again LEGO, the staff of the Burlington LEGO store and Mad Dog for a wonderful evening. Best of luck in 2011.

Josh and Jared

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Patrick & Erin

 

~ by Cute Fan Girl on January 4, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
