Young Artist in the Making

This is just a silly proud Momma post! Today Lex wanted to do some drawing. I set him up at the desk with a pad of paper and some crayons. Loki joined him with her own pad.

No sooner did I get into the kitchen I was called back to see something. This happens with just about EVERYTHING Lex does, I’m waiting for the day he calls me back to see him breathing. I came back into the living room to see that he had draw a circle that was divided into 6 parts. He didn’t ask for help, he didn’t make any mistakes – he had made a circle divided into 6 semi-equal parts. He presented the image to me and said he was making a color wheel.

Okay – I could not be prouder! This is like when Mad Dog sees Loki going through one of his comic boxes or sitting “reading” a graphic novel. I mean I love art, in fact at one point I could actually draw and paint (I’m very out of practice). I even have a Bachelor of Fine Arts from Massachusetts College of Art and Design. How much prouder could I be? He asked me to  help him find the colors. I managed to find him the 6 crayons he needed as he told me which colors I was looking for and I started him off with a mark of red in one of the 6 sections. He then helped me mark the other 5 sections. I asked him what colors made up each of the secondary colors until we had marks in each of the 6 sections. Lex took over at that point and colored each sections with the color marked inside of it.

A huge thanks for my son’s knowledge of color comes from this Leap Frog Leapster 2 and the game: Mr Pencil’s Learn to Draw and Write and this new Leap Frog Explore and the game: Mr Pencil Saves Doodleburg. He loves playing both games and he knows his stuff when it comes to his colors. You can ask him what colors mix together to make the secondary colors and he can even do some of the tertiary colors.

He finished up his color wheel and signed it with his name using all the colors he could. I hope his love of color and art continues, I’m looking forward to future trips to the MFA with Lex and possibly even Loki. I think I’ll have to insure they have a love for modern / abstract art so that I will have someone to look at it with since Mad Dog doesn’t care for it. Hee, hee, hee.

~ by Cute Fan Girl on January 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
