Read and Grow

I “read” all year round. When I say reading, I usually mean I’m listening to audio versions of the book I’m talking about. The main reason for this is because I spend a minimum of 10 hours a week in the car commuting to and from work (3 of those days with Lex and Loki) and 40 hours (again minimum) at work usually in front of my computer. Yes, I completely understand that people far busier than I read (pick-up physical books), but for me I don’t usually find the time until I’m in bed and about to fall off to sleep.

As far back as I can remember I have enjoyed audio books and now even more so right now with my schedule. Depending on the length of the book and the interruptions at work (if I’m focused and in the zone I can clear 2 books easy) I can get through 1 or 2 books a week. People can’t believe I listen to books and actually get the amount of work I get done – done. Yes, there are times I have to stop the book if I have to focus on wording something in an email and the constant whispers in my ear are interfering or sometimes I find myself too deep in the zone and I realize I have tuned out the narrator of the book, in those cases I fall back to the start of the segment or until I remember a part of the story. At a time when I wasn’t listening to so many books, we had joined Audible.com. Its great, but for me (now) I blow through so many books it’s not worth it for me. We have turned to the public library for most of my needs. I reserve what I’m looking for and Mad Dog picks it up for me. We rip the files to our iTunes and update my iPod shuffle as I need it. Yes I have a iPod shuffle for my audio needs. It was a gift from Mad Dog for Christmas. Since the shuffle now allows you to play in order and have multiple playlists I can load up whatever book I’m listening to that week and go. This allows me to keep my iPod nano clear of audio files that are not music.  Even with all the books from the library, I find myself from time to time without anything to listen to, when this happens I have a stash of audio cds in my desk to re-listen to (examples: American Gods by Neil Gaiman; The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley)

I do of course run into the issue that not all books are on audio. This has become a problem for me recently since I want to read several books recommend in books I’ve recently listened to. I started to pick up physical books again. This prompted Mad Dog to make me get my own library card, which I did. I have started reserving more and more actual books an I’m currently working my way through two: The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson and Elizabeth’s Women by Tracy Borman. I was generously given a copy of First Family: Abigail and John Adams by Joseph J. Ellis which I started and will go back to once I finish Elizabeth’s Women.

In 2011 I am hoping to keep a complete list of the audio and the physical books I read through out the year. Mad Dog seems to think I read a lot more that I think I do, and I would like to find out just how much I am working through. This will be a post topic I will return to from time to time through out the year to update. I am not looking to hit a specific number, but just to get a number of books I’m reading though out the year. I will mark the Audio Books with an (A) and Physical Books with (B) and if the time comes when I do (I am looking/thinking about) get a eReader those books will be marked with an (E). Oh and books in progress will be marked just so I don’t loose track of what I’m reading.

If you’re looking for your own 2011 reading challenge check out the folks at Books on the Nightstand: Podcast #110 Reading Resolutions or goodreads.com for some of the Reading Groups Challenges. Check back and see my progress at Reading Challenge 2011.

~ by Cute Fan Girl on January 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
