Back-Pedaling Without a Bike

When you answer a phone call from your husband, there are just somethings you don’t want to hear. Of course there are the usual array of bad news that you don’t want to hear when you answer any phone call, but with your husband you don’t want to hear that he “just met the coolest person I have ever met in my life”. You especially don’t want to hear this when you know he isn’t talking about you. That is what happen when I answered my phone last night. This after a long evening of whining sick kids, bad bedtimes and my bouts with vertigo (not the good Alfred Hitchcock kind either). If you know anything about mine and Mad Dog’s relationship you know that I immediately gave him a hard time.

Last night Mad Dog attended a meet and greet with author Ernest Cline at Kings Back Bay. The event was held by Random House and hosted by Michael Kindness (Books on the Nightstand) was to talk about the much anticipated upcoming release of Cline’s first book Ready Player One. Cline who is a screenwriter, a spoken-word artist and an unrepentant geek best know for the 2009 film Fanboys hales from Austin, TX. It’s the “geek” part that got Mad Dog’s heart pumpin’!

Ready Player One is something of Cline’s love letter to pop-culture and video games of the 1980’s. Set in the near future, we meet Wade Watts, who like most of humanity escapes his everyday surroundings by logging in to the OASIS, a globally networked virtual utopia which gives users a chance to lead idyllic alternate lives. Like Willy Wonka’s golden tickets, OASIS creator James Halliday has hidden a series of fiendish puzzles that when solved will bring massive fortune and remarkable power to whoever unlocks them. The adventure begins when Wade stumbles on the first puzzle. What follows will leave Wade and his world profoundly changed forever. 

Okay, so we have an author who is a geek and writes about 80’s pop culture – I guess I’m just lucky he wasn’t a she, huh? Cline also owns a DeLorean called ECT088, to a child of the 80’s that might actually be better than having breasts. (I might be in trouble). Needless to say Mad Dog enjoyed the time he had to chat and geek-out with Cline, who regaled them all with the ultimate geek stories. Am I a little jealous? Only a little. I might not wear my 80’s pop-culture or geek badge on my sleeve all the time, but to have a chance to hear stories of Harry Knowles (Ain’t It Cool News), meeting George Lucas or watching a film with Guillermo del Toro – okay, yeah, I’m jealous!

I guess I’ll have to wait until (hopefully) Cline takes a book tour to the Northeast to get my chance to geek out with him. Possibly those thousand viewing and in-depth analysis of Bladerunner (both theatrical/director’s cut) that I suffered through in college might come in handy(there is an entire planet in the OASIS inspired by Bladerunner) ! I only say suffered (I love the film) because of my fanatic ex (He Who Can Not Be Named) who ate, slept and dreamed it 24/7.  I’m looking forward to reading our signed Advanced Reader’s Edition of Ready Player One, which by the way has a very cool cover! From what Mad Dog said it won’t be the released version according to Cline. Fingers crossed they don’t do something completely lame like a J.A. Konrath – Jacqueline “Jack” Daniels series book cover (you know the ones that all are named after cocktails). It’s a book about 80’s nostalgia, pop-culture and video games what could be more appropriate than pixels, alien invaders, half-lives and the ultimate prize – a key.

So how much grief have I been giving Mad Dog since his phone call last night? To say a lot would be putting it mildly. It’s all in good fun. Honestly the best part is watching him back-pedal without a bike. He has gone on to explain that I am a completely different class of “Cool People”, which means that he put me above meeting Ernie Cline (sorry Ernie). I have a few friends from my B&N days in Enfield that I know will love this book, so I have to go get the geek word out, but before I do that I might have to torture Mad Dog with a viewing of Bladerunner with He Who Can Not Be Named commentary that I remember or I’ll make him play Super Mario Galaxy on the Wii. Mad Dog can’t play anything that isn’t off the Atari 2600.

~ by Cute Fan Girl on May 13, 2011.

2 Responses to “Back-Pedaling Without a Bike”

  1. […] Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (who Mad Dog met a few weeks ago – See Back-Pedaling Without a Bike) […]

  2. […] night out to meet Cline thanks to our good friend Michael Kindness of Books of the Nightstand (see Back-Pedaling  Without a Bike). Since that night and blog post, Ready Player One has been on my nightstand summer reading list. […]

Leave a Reply

 
