I’ll Be Right Back…

Shaker Pond: Early Afternoon Saturday

There are just some things that you don’t want to happen when you’re in Maine. Most of those things are any thing you have read in a Stephen King book! They tend to leave you ill at ease and thinking it was a really bad idea to have come.

You can tell me all you want that it’s all imagination and make believe, but I know differently. I’m okay with it. I’m prepared for the badness (at least I hope I am). I recently re-listened to King’s Danse Macabre, because of this I have made a point to read several of the books he notes among good reads, as well as checking out several of the films. One of the films he mentions is The Mist, written and directed by Frank Darabont (The Shawshank Redemption, Green Mile and more recently AMC’s The Walking Dead). I had listened to the 3-D sound production of the book some time last year and loved it, so I asked that Mad Dog pick the film up at our local library. We watched it last Thursday night. Perfect timing for a trip to Maine!

Shaker Pond with the Unusual Mist

If you don’t know the general story, I’ll give it to you. The morning after a violent storm, a Maine family notices an unusual mist forming on the lake their home sits on. More concerned with the clean-up after the storm the man and his son head into town for supplies with a neighbor. Once in town and trapped in the local supermarket, the true nature of the mist is discovered. What’s easier to fight?  Unworldly monsters or the fears of man? Me? I think I would take monster fighting over people under stress and scared any day.

Shaker Pond with the Unusual Mist

We arrived in Maine Saturday afternoon. Our destination was the cottage, which sits on Shaker Pond. Upon arriving Mad Dog put up our tent and then helped Stuart (my Mom’s husband), my brother Kevin and Brother-in-law Brent put in the dock for the summer. The rest of the day was spent hanging out, eating dinner and getting ready for bed. Just before we were getting ready to settle in the tent Mad Dog noticed a lovely unusual “MIST” coming across the pond. He of course said it to me with a smile, which asked “am I in for a bad night because you insist on watching horror movies?” We had seen fog on the pond before, but not a mist that crept across like this. It was right out of Frank Darabont’s film. Having to be the parent and not to scare the kids I had to tell myself “it’s just a coincidence”.

Shaker Pond with the Unusual Mist

That first night was a lot of things. One, it was cold. Though we knew it might be a bit chilly, it was cold. The kids were in long underwear and cocooned in their sleeping bags, while Mad Dog and I were a little less prepared. Two, I am a product of my parents. If I wasn’t on the end with two small children, in the tent I would probably have done the same thing my Mother did. She crept out to the tent shortly after we started to settle and she started to scratch on the tent with her finger nails. Just enough to make me sit up and take notice. Three, I had heartburn. This meant I had to get up and use a flash light to go to the house. By myself. In the dark. Past/through the MIST. I will honestly say I kept one eye on the pond and one eye to what was in front of me, while listening behind me.

Needless to say I made it okay. I lived and nothing came out of the night or out of the mist to get me. With maybe one exception: the mosquitoes!

For Fun: Zombie Loki

As a parent who knows there are things that go bump in the night (which I’m still scared of myself), how do I help my children get through things I can’t even get though myself half the time. Mad Dog has sat through many a viewing of one of my “Happy” movies (the movies I watch after the scary ones) and he has also woken up at 3 in the morning with me sitting next to him trying to keep my eyes open because I’m scared to fall asleep. It has become old hat for him to ask if I’m sure I want to watch something and then immediately follows that with the question “are you going to be able to sleep after?”

Am I afraid of the dark? Yes. However I will say I am much better about walking through our apartment now with the lights out. This doesn’t mean that if I watch something scary and the kids wake up in the middle of the night that walking into that dark room by myself  doesn’t get my heart racing- I have a hell of a hard time opening that closed door. Still I do it, because my kids are in there. When the time comes to deal with nightmares, I honestly believe I will possibly be far more prepared than Mad Dog. I still keep mine locked in a box close to my heart, that way I know where they are and how to hopefully defeat them when the time comes that they rear their ugly heads once again. They will most likely be the same fears, nightmares and monsters my children will be frightened of  in their youth. Personally I would much rather have a Mom that knows silver-bullets are for werewolves, aim for the head of zombies and that there is always a way to bump back at the things that go bump in the night.

~ by Cute Fan Girl on May 30, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
