Checking it Twice!

Do you ever feel like you’re in hyper-drive? Moving so fast, rushing things along just to make sure you get to everything? That’s how we have been feeling lately, like a retailer putting up Christmas decorations before we finish with back-to-school, never mind Halloween.

With Thanksgiving in two weeks Mad Dog and I find ourselves in full holiday planning swing. Now, if you know Mad Dog and myself we are not “those” people. First of all Mad Dog works retail and for the last several years we would have seen this as standing at the gates of Hell waiting for his descent, but this year is a little different. Though he is the Operations Manager of the Northampton, Massachusetts comic and game shop Modern Myths, which is retail, he will most likely only be going to the third level of hell this season and not the ninth. For me its a battle usually to keep traditions going, plan them around a busy work week and make it as magical as possible for the kids. Easy stuff huh? Though since Loki’s birth 3 years ago, I have started doing my holiday shopping early, picking up gifts here and there throughout the year, I never get into full holiday crazy mode until after Thanksgiving (okay- yes I might plan our holiday cards early-but that is all). Why is this year so different?

The first week in December I will be traveling for business. Yes, I know you’re impressed and you didn’t have to roll your eye when you read that. I am well aware that people travel for business all the time and it’s not a big deal. What is a big deal is that it’s for the first week of December. A week isn’t long, but put it in the super holiday swing season and you have the possible makings of some lost traditions, missed photo opportunities, sad faces and a ruined holiday. I sound dramatic, I know.Though I am very excited for this work opportunity, I hate the idea of not being around the kids and Mad Dog for a whole week. This has made my head spin into that “Holiday Hyper-Drive” that I was talking about earlier. I’m in super planning mode to fit everything in. This of course is driving Mad Dog a bit nuts, since he boycotts stores that play Christmas/Holiday commercials before Thanksgiving. I’m praying Target holds off a bit and I can hide those commercials from him with a quick click of the remote.

What have I managed to do and plan since the start of my craziness? First I signed us up for Skype. No this is not a holiday thing, but it is a way for the kids to talk to me every night while I’m away face to face with a video conference. Mad Dog and I have set up both our Laptop and Netbook for this, which will mean the kids will get a little face time before bed each night. I don’t know if in the end this will make it harder or easier, but I know that my recent late nights at work leave at least Lex upset a little that he doesn’t get to say good night. This past week he left me a recorded message on one his toys (that weird yellow thing in the photo) saying, “Good Bye. I miss you Mommy!” Yes, he knows how to rub it in.

With Skype in place, I turned to my holiday planning and birthday planning. Santa isn’t the only one that checks his list twice. With Loki’s birthday falling on December 11th the weekend I come home from my trip, we felt it easier to have her birthday early. Another concern is that if we get hit with any type of serious snow, a parking ban would kill the party. With Mad Dog actually off on “Black Friday” we decided to do a small family party then. Loki has asked for a princess party, with balloons and cake and party hats. She selected pink and orange as her colors (we don’t know where she gets this from). I have started to make felt shields for all our men guests who will be knights of her kingdom and I will be making felt flower brooches  for the ladies of her court (her banner has a crest of a cat head on it). We are going to pick up a helium tank for her balloon request and planning a courtly Game of Thrones type menu if possible. Because of all the prep for her party and the fact I will be leaving the following weekend for work we have decided that we will be staying home for Thanksgiving this year. This was a hard call for me. Though Mad Dog is happy for the quiet family time (in general), I feel it isn’t the holidays if you’re not with your family. The last time we did this was when Loki was born, 3 years ago and it nearly killed me to stay home for Christmas and not be at my Mom’s. Luckily my brother Kevin and brother-in-law Brent, who have hosted Thanksgiving for the last several years were understanding. Still I am saddened we won’t be with them.

Skype- Check. Thanksgiving @ Home – Check. Birthday Party – Check. Looks like I’m well on my way. I can add our holiday photos and Christmas Cards to my list too. The first week of November I set to work on taking our Christmas photos of the kids. Though I won’t be sharing the end result here (sorry, I would like it to be a surprise to our friends and family) right now, I promise to post them once they are in the hands of the US Postal Service. They turned out great and I have Lex and Loki to thank for that (oh and our blue chair which is featured in most of our holiday photos). With the pictures taken, cleaned up and our cards selected on Shutterfly, I ordered them and received them this past Thursday. Mad Dog had to remind me that we can’t mail them until after Thanksgiving. I have to now do our labels and we’re good to go.

What else is left? I have my shopping just about done. At least the kids are, with the exception of stocking stuffers. The kids have been making paper mittens for decorations in the house and I have marked the calendar with other holiday traditions which we have to get in. This coming week we are going to visit Santa at Bass Pro Shop for pictures on a half day I have scheduled.  We’ll be purchasing and decorating our tree the week before I leave (yes, we get a real tree). Mad Dog is scheduled to make graham cracker dough for our Gingerbread Houses (the kids tend to like the homemade graham crackers better) the end of the week I’m gone, so that I can cut, bake and assemble the houses (Saturday when I get back) for decorating with the kids on Sunday. I want to plan ornament and gift making with the kids, which will probably fall the weekend before Christmas. All this and we still have to find Christmas Pajamas for the family and see when Gabrielle is coming from WI. Oh and I forgot that I want to make something for the staff at our Lowe’s for all their wonderful work they did for the kids through out the year at Build and Grow.

Now to take a deep breath and back to work!

~ by Cute Fan Girl on November 13, 2011.

One Response to “Checking it Twice!”

  1. Wonderful items from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just too fantastic. I actually like what you’ve got right here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You’re making it entertaining and you still take care of to stay it sensible. I cant wait to learn much more from you. That is actually a tremendous web site.

Leave a Reply

 
