Pooh & Piglet

I have two brothers. My youngest brother, Kevin turns 29 today. It’s not a big birthday by most people standards, but I guess it should be since it’s the last year he will be in his twenties. I’m not here to get into the philosophy of age I’m here to talk about him. A while back I wrote a tear jerking post on my brother Sean’s birthday and though I have attempted to do this for Kevin (several times) I can’t bring myself to finish it. This is not because I’m closer to Sean, in fact if anyone has been closer over the years it’s Kevin and I – I think it’s because I want it to be so perfect. I struggle so much with it – to the point where Mad Dog and I got into a huge fight last year when I was making an attempt at it.

My brother Kevin is eight years younger than me. This age gap would lead you to believe that we would have nothing in common. This is not even close to the truth. Kevin and I speak the same language so much so that we don’t even have to talk at times. I know when to walk away when he is being difficult and I know when he needs an extra push. I don’t remember much of his time as a baby, which is odd since I should. I was eight, but it would seem that I was more worried about first or second grade and what was going on in our neighborhood to care. The novelty of a little brother had been smashed by Sean three years earlier.

It’s not until I got much older, high school and college that I have strong memories of him. In February of 1992 I told him I would take him to the movies to see Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. He was 9. We got there an hour earlier than we should and I wasn’t going to wait around, so I took him to his first PG-13 film, Sean Connery’s Medicine Man. From there a few years later he would visit me in college and then take a road trip with friends and I to Florida to Disney where he would insist on not eating red meat for a month after he came back. He was a quiet kid and if there was trouble it was usually at the urging of someone else.

The thing about Kevin very few people know about is his strength. He can do things that I think he doesn’t even realize he can do at first. When our Father became ill, it was Kevin who at 17 helped care for him in California with the support of my Uncle Jerry and Cousin Stephen. He was 17. He had just announced to his family he was gay and had lost his way in school – dropping out. Regardless to how bad he felt, how unsure he was of his future this 17 year boy stepped up. He cared for his ailing father. In the end my father was most worried about his sons, especially Kevin who he knew was struggling to find himself. It was my and my Mother’s job to reassure him that both boys would be okay – a promise we didn’t have to keep on our own. Kevin found the strength inside of him to get his G.E.D. and build his life.

Now years later we are both married (thank you Massachusetts) and don’t see each other as often as we would like. However we are there for one another at the important moments. He was there (down the hall) for the birth of my son Lex. He stood beside me at my wedding. I witnessed his wedding at 9 months pregnant with my second child, Loki.

It’s been a long road together and apart and though this blog post isn’t perfect – it isn’t all I would want it to be, because there is so much more to tell about this amazing person in my life – I’ve gotten through it without trashing it.

One last thing – last week for Mother’s Day a gift was left for me at my Mom’s. This gift had the expectation of making me cry – sadly I opened it at a bad time in my week. It was a small plaque with a small drawing of classic Winnie the Pooh and Piglet on it. The words read:

“We’ll be friends forever, Won’t we, Pooh?” asked Piglet. 

“Even longer,” Pooh answered. 

Reading it today brought tears to my eyes. Happy Birthday Little Brother. I love you.

~ by Cute Fan Girl on May 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
