Some Things Are Worth Waiting For

We all know the craziness of the daily grind can make us forget to stop and appreciate the things that are so important to us. I recently did that, well not actually but I didn’t acknowledge it here. That doesn’t mean the moment of celebration was lessened, but I didn’t get to share it with all of you.

That moment was the day I was married to Mad Dog. It was five years on August 11th. I know most people would end that sentence with: ” and they were the happiest of my life!” They were great years, but I know we have five better ones ahead of us and five more after that and so on. Because life doesn’t stop for a celebration, we didn’t go out for a huge romantic dinner, we didn’t drink the bottle of champagne that has been chilling in our wine fridge since our engagement and we didn’t go away on a fabulous trip or cruise. What we did do was spend a simple few hours together. I had no camera, so I can’t show you the silly shots from our lunch or the photos I would have taken of the people running from the rain outside.

I can however tell you that the man that sat across from me was and is the man that I love. He is the one that takes care of me. He is the one that rescues me when I need rescuing (which is saying a lot since I have self rescuing princess and zombie survival training). He is the father of my children and their best friend. He makes me laugh when I’m annoyed and he knows when I’m smiling on the inside when I’m trying to fake serious or angry.

I asked him what was his favorite memory of the past five years and he couldn’t answer since there were too many to choose from. He didn’t want to jip Loki by saying it was the day Lex was born or vice versa. He  did say that he loved me more at that moment then he did the day we were married. I laughed and asked if that was a compliment. I mean that’s impressive if he loves me more after all my horrible moments. I then asked him what was the worst moment. He said it was the day he was driving home and the ambulance was coming to get me after Loki was born. He didn’t know what was going to happen to me. I said I would have to say that was my worst moment too.

It took me a long time to find him. There are times when we’re together I feel I need my space, I need a moment to myself and then I think of those times like now when I’m waiting for him to come home and I think how much I miss him. How much I love him. He’s one of the good guys. The Browncoats. He’s my Mad Dog.

~ by Cute Fan Girl on September 1, 2012.

One Response to “Some Things Are Worth Waiting For”

  1. This is a wonderful post Kim. Well done!

Leave a Reply

 
